George Braziller

Independent Publishing Since 1955


New and Forthcoming Titles


"The Mountain" from You're Not Edith published in Huffington Post. Read here.

"These stories are especially moving for their simplicity and for Gruber's honest, straightforward manner of storytelling. The result is a slim but powerful book."  (Publishers WeeklyRead the full review here

"in-your-face funny and heartbreakingly sad." (Booklist) Read the full review here.

" enthralling as it is unflinching." (Lambda Literary)

In You're Not Edith, newcomer Allison Gruber offers a searing reflection on life as a young lesbian and breast cancer survivor. Through discussions of madness, religion, gender and feminism, Gruber captivates with heartbreaking candor and wit. From her teenage Dian Fossey to her Virginia Woolf of Drama Club, she invites us into a world of brash, bookish hilarity, as she navigates an unusual life, interrupted. In this gutsy first collection, Gruber asks herself how best to live and finds answers big enough for all of us. "How many cancer sufferers can comfort themselves by singing, 'It's Friday in the cit-tay and I've only got one eyebrow?' This is a wonderful book." - Rosellen Brown.

First Light brings together the best work of the legendary Australian poet, Philip Hodgins. Published in The New Yorker and The Paris Review, Hodgins was internationally renowned for his unflinchingly honest and mordant account of country life in Australia. In a vivid and lucid style, his astonishing poems reveal the complexities, depths and urgencies of living at the edge of life and death. Celebrated for his sophisticated yet understated craftsmanship, Hodgins writes with subtlety, humor and heartbreaking intensity.

The Guilty is a brilliant, prize-winning collection of stories by Mexico’s most important living writer. From the semiotics of pet iguanas to the disillusionment of mariachi singers, Villoro reveals the deep dissatisfactions and absurdities of life in Mexico and its carnivalesque capital. We encounter a border trucker making a movie about illegal migrants, a cuckolded football superstar, and a gluten-free American journalist seeking the authentic Mexican experience. A master of the post-modern narrative, Villoro gives us contemporary Mexico through a complex interplay of culture and character psychology in the most surprising, fresh and humorous ways.  


Notable Titles

Braziller is renowned for publishing the work of artists such as Pablo Picasso, Will Barnett, Henri Matisse, Red Grooms, Philip Guston, and George Inness, as well as its pioneering architecture series. A leader in contemporary literary fiction and nonfiction, Braziller introduced the work of Nathalie Sarraute, Claude Simon, Orhan Pamuk, Charles Simic, Janet Frame and Buchi Emecheta to American readers. We continue in this tradition with our current series of contemporary Australian poetry, a first collection by essayist Allison Gruber, and the first English translations of renowned Mexican writer, Juan Villoro.